Skip to Content Accessibility Information

Governor's Coordinating Offices

Governor Larry Hogan Elected Vice-Chairman of National Governors Association

Will Lead Bipartisan Governors Association With Montana Governor Steve Bullock for 2018-19

ANNAPOLIS, MD – Governor Larry Hogan will be officially elected Vice-Chairman of the National Governors Association (NGA) at the organization’s 2018 summer meeting later this week in Santa Fe, New Mexico, which the governor will attend from July 20-22. Governor Hogan will lead the bipartisan coalition of governors along with Governor Steve Bullock (D-Montana), who will serve as Chairman.

“Governors have a tremendous opportunity to come together to find solutions and make real progress in the face of the dysfunction we see in Washington, D.C.,” said Governor Hogan. “I am deeply honored to have been selected by my bipartisan colleagues to help lead this effort, and I look forward to continuing to work with Governor Bullock and our fellow governors from both sides of the aisle to share ideas and ultimately get things done for our constituents.”

Governor Hogan has served on the NGA’s executive committee since 2017, and is the incoming Chair of the Finance Committee and the NGA Best Practices Board. He also serves as Co-Chair of the Water Policy Learning Network and previously served as Chair of the Economic Development & Commerce Committee.

“I am honored that Governor Larry Hogan will serve as NGA’s Vice Chair in 2018,” said NGA Executive Director Scott Pattison. “Governor Hogan will help shape NGA’s effort to develop innovative solutions to state policy challenges and will add to a strong bipartisan voice to federal policy discussions.”

NGA leadership always consists of both a Republican and a Democrat, who are selected by the Republican Governors Association and Democratic Governors Association respectively. Governor Hogan’s selection as Vice-Chairman means that he will automatically ascend to serve as as the organization’s next Chairman from 2019-20.

For all NGA related matters contact Tiffany Waddell, Director of Federal Relations.

Press Release Archives